Burtynsky Grant

Broadbent Sisters

2018 submissions are now closed; thank you for your interest.

The Burtynsky Grant of $5,000 is an annual grant that supports a Canadian artist in the creation of a photobook. Canadian photographer Edward Burtynsky generously donated his 2016 Governor General’s Award in Visual and Media Arts to create the grant and foster the careers of emerging Canadian artists.

This grant is intended to support photo-based artists who are in the advanced stages of developing a photobook. The jury is looking for submissions from those that have created a book dummy, are currently seeking funding to work with a publisher or to self-publish, and who have had little to no prior opportunity to publish a photobook. The winner will be announced at the end of May 2018, in addition to a selection of honourable mentions.

2018 Jury
Edward Burtynsky
Taia Kwinter (Associate Managing Editor, Aperture)
Maxine Proctor (Managing Editor, Blackflash; director and co-founder, Toronto Art Book Fair)
Marcus Schubert (Director of Media, Publications & Exhibits, Burtynsky Studios)

Past Winners
2017 - The Broadbent Sisters, A Telepathic Book
2016 - Aaron Friend Lettner, Doorways

Gattuso Prize


Sandra Brewster, Blur 8, 2017, mural, photo-based gel transfer media, paper, installation based. Courtesy of the artist and Georgia Scherman Projects.

The Gattuso Prize of $5,000 acknowledges an outstanding Featured Exhibition in CONTACT. The jury bases their decision on the caliber and concept of the work, the curatorial vision, and overall impact and presentation of the exhibition.

CONTACT's Featured Exhibitions, selected to be part of the Festival through a juried submission process, are organized independently by hosting venues, presenting organizations and exhibiting artists.

CONTACT gratefully acknowledges the generous support and contributions of La Fondation Emmanuelle Gattuso. The Foundation demonstrates strong leadership and influences innovation across all charitable sectors in Canada including health care, culture and the arts.

Past Winners

Sandra BrewsterIt's all a blur… at Georgia Scherman Projects

Jury: Rosemary Heather (writer and curator) and Anique Jordan (executive director, Whippersnapper Gallery)

Lee HendersonNever Letting Us Take Breath at Zalucky Contemporary

Jury: Rui Mateus Amaral (Curator and Artistic Director of Scrap Metal) and Mona Filip (Director/Curator of the Koffler Gallery at the Koffler Centre of the Arts)

Jimmy Limit, Surplus at Clint Roenisch Gallery

Jury: Lise Beaudry (artist and lecturer), Sara Knelman (writer, curator and lecturer)

Nadia Belerique,  Have You Seen This Man at Daniel Faria Gallery

Jury: Jeremy Laing (designer and artist) and Gabrielle Moser (independent curator and art critic)

Marlene Creates,  Selected works from 30 years, 1982-2012, at Paul Petro Contemporary Art

Jury: Max Dean (artist) and Dr. Matthew Brower (curator and historian University of Toronto)

Lise Beaudry, Sur la glace / Walking on Ice, at the Art Gallery Of Mississauga.

Jury: Michael Itkoff (Founding Editor of Daylight Magazine, New York) and Dr. Thierry Gervais (Researcher in Residence at the Ryerson Image Centre, Toronto)

Andrew Wright, CORONAE at Peak Gallery.

Jury: Sheyi Bankale (Editor and Founder of Next Level Magazine, London, UK) and David Liss (Artistic Director & Curator at the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art, Toronto)

The Portfolio Reviews Award

Brendan George Ko

Established in 2010, the Portfolio Reviews Award offers one artist a solo exhibition at the CONTACT Gallery, a $2,500 credit at Toronto Image Works, and a professional 17-inch Epson printer from Vistek. The recipient is chosen by a jury of international professionals in the field of photography, and the award recognizes outstanding work presented at the reviews. The program was created to support and advance the careers of talented emerging photographers.

CONTACT gratefully acknowledges the Ontario Arts Council, Toronto Image Works and Vistek for supporting this award.

Past Winners

Brendan George Ko, Moemoeā

Nathaniel Brunt, #shaheed

Josée Pedneault, Nævus

Michel Huneault, La longue nuit de Mégantic

Ian Willms, No Road to Nowhere

Guillaume Simoneau, Love and War 

Jesse Louttit,  No Roads
Jonathan Taggart,  The Friction of Distance: The Lillooet River Valley

Alex Kisilevich, Untitled
Henrieta Haniskova, I am Elvis